Dale E. Lehman
1 min readAug 17, 2023

--

Thank you. The people I've lost have, by and large, been in their 80's and 90's. It's (slightly) less traumatic then, I find. You know people don't often live much longer than that, so at least you're (somewhat) expecting it.

But a bit over a year ago, I lost my wife of 45 years. She was only 63. That loss was in a class of its own. My doctor tells me, based on my health and family history, I can expect to live a long time still. Sometimes, the prospect of all those years is frightening. I keep going, of course. What else can I do? She wouldn't want me to give up. So, yes, I try to take the minutes I'm given, and sometimes they are very good minutes. Right now, though, I'm mostly just putting one foot in front of the other.

I posted my own loss story in December, 2022. You'll find it pinned on my profile, if you're interested.

--

--

Dale E. Lehman

Award-winning author of mysteries, science fiction, humor, and more. See my freebies for readers and writers at https://www.daleelehman.com/free-ebook-offer.